SuperLATCH Aftermath

LISmama810

Admin - CPS Technician
So, now that the big hubbub has been dead for a while...are people still having SuperLATCH issues?

I hadn't experienced a problem until a few weeks ago when DD accidentally loosened the strap with her foot. I called and they sent a new strap.

There is definitely a HUGE difference in the two. The original one loosens with the tilt-plate barely nudged from parallel. The new one needs to be practically parallel before it moves. I'm not sure it would prevent a kid from accidentally kicking it loose, but I imagine it would curb the loosening-through-vibration that some people experienced.

What have others' experiences with the new belts been?

ADS

ketchupqueen

CPST and ketchup snob
Staff member
I haven't put a Radian in with LATCH in so long, I have no experience with the newest seats and SuperLATCH. I do know that as recently as late last year I was still running into issues with loosening SuperLATCH in clients' cars.

Malka

I've had my new radian in (with LATCH) for a couple months now, and every once in a while, I give the seat a tug to make sure it hasn't loosened. Still as tight as it was when I installed it.

Stelvis

The new ones have a little wire clip in the back that they call a retainer clip. It has fixed issues for many people but not everyone. It didn't fix my issue.

NicoleCPST

Senior Community Member
I stopped using the SL entirely after all the confusion and non answers I got. I also suggested to all of the radian owners I know ( a large portion of my expecting group from dd) that they use a seatbelt if the could get an acceptable install.

Do the new ones look different? Pics?

LISmama810

Admin - CPS Technician
The rep I talked to said they had changed them to require a greater angle to release the tilt-lever. I don't know if that's what the clip accomplished or if that was another change.