I'm a tech. I should know this but...

glockchick

Is this ok?

I'm trying to get 3 across in my civic with 2 boosters. :banginghead:

I don't need this to work because I have the Suburban if I need to take more kids, but I'd like it to so I don't have to shell out the gas for the suburban unless I have to take more than 4 kids somewhere. I usually only take the younger 3 when I go to the store and stuff during the summer.

The BLVD is for my 4 year old and the boosters are for my 5 1/2 and just about 8 year olds.

I don't like the gap behind the boosters. It's hard to tell, but hardly any of the back is touching the back of the seat due to those stupid side bolsters. The seats are actually a little cock eyed, so much that backless would never work because they're butts would fall in the crack between the booster and the seat back.

43417895.jpg

67847385.jpg

Then I tried putting the BLVD on the side and seeing if Abi 5 steps in the middle. Here's the gap on the BLVD.

673ff208.jpg

With the camera right up against the seat you can see straight through.

a9cf1c4f.jpg

I don't like it, but is it safe? My gut is saying no because not 80% of the car seat is in contact with the vehicle seat.

What do you think?

ADS

monica-m

CPST Instructor
It's 80% if the bottom of the seat on the vehicle seat. If the BLVD is acceptably tight, i would be fine with it. The boosters look okay to me but boosters are not my forte and they have different rules about the gaps.

ketchupqueen

CPST and ketchup snob
Staff member
While that's fine for the harnessed seat (the top is in firm contact, the base is all the way back, the base is on the vehicle seat all the way), those boosters do not allow a gap, I'm afraid. Does the gap remain when the children sit in them? If so, they are incompatible with those seating positions if the gap is as significant as I think it is (worse than it looks, as you say.)

glockchick