Am I a snob?

Wreckgoddess

I have 3 Britax seats for my son. But he is getting super close to outgrowing the height RF in the 70 model in my car and so I went ahead and bought a Diono Radian RXT for my car to use when he outgrows the one in my car RF to keep him RF longer. (The other 2 Britax seats are the 65 model not the 70 and he has a little more height left in the shell for some reason.)

I was soo excited to play with a new seat!

I have never installed a radian, and have never seen one in person. I am a newbie CPST.

When I opened the box last night I couldn't help but be dissapointed. I am not in love with the giant plastic chest clip or the "comfort" level of the Radian compared to the Britax Advocates I am spoiled to.

My son is 2.5 and about 35-36 inches tall. 12.5 inches from butt to shoulder seated.

I don't know.. am I the only one that feels this way? It does seem like he will be a little easier to get in and out due to the lower sides. But I am super nervous about the step down in side impact protection if riding outboard. I realize remaining RF longer is better, so I will do it in this seat no matter what. But....

ADS

Jessica61624

I found our radian was much more comfortable for my son. He has so much more leg room in the radian. The chest clip is big but I like it because my son has learned to buckle it on his own. I don't buy into the side impact stuff with the advocate so I won't comment there. But give it a chance, you might find you really like it!

skylinphoto

Jessica61624 said:
I found our radian was much more comfortable for my son. He has so much more leg room in the radian. The chest clip is big but I like it because my son has learned to buckle it on his own. I don't buy into the side impact stuff with the advocate so I won't comment there. But give it a chance, you might find you really like it!

Yeah that. I've had both a britax and a radian. The radian is, by far, more practical. At least IMO. Try it out!

Phineasmama