Is it possible to get 3 across in an 07' Toyota Rav4? - Canada

M

mom2-3boys

Hello,

I have twin boys who will be turning 4 at the end of August, and am expecting a baby boy at the beginning of August. The twins are currently forward facing in Evenflo Triumph car seats, but they are very big and bulky.

My question is this: Does anyone have experience with fitting 3 car seats in an '07 Rav 4? I was wondering about 2 new Diono seats (previously Radian Sunshine) for the twins as I heard they are quite narrow. They would be on either side, and I was hoping to fit an infant seat in the middle.

#1. Is this possible?
#2. Is is safe?
#3. Does the Rav4 have the proper anchoring to allow for this?
#4. Is it legal?

Any information you could provide would be greatly appreciated.

ADS

mommycat

Hello and welcome! Glad you found us.

I have no experience with your vehicle but I remain optimistic that we can find some combination of seats that will work for you. It is definitely legal and safe assuming that each seat is installed indepedently tight. (In fact I think I have read that seats performed better when installed next to another seat.)

What are your boys' weights and heights? Just wondering if the Radians will last them long or not. You can always pass one down to the baby but if you don't need spare seats it may make sense to investigate options which include a different seat for each of the boys.

You may need to install all three seats with the seatbelt even if you have lower anchors available because the seatbelt allows more flexibility with seat positioning, letting you scoot the outboard seats a bit more outboard than what the LUAS attachments allow.