Question Torso height

ADS

ketchupqueen

CPST and ketchup snob
Staff member
Torso height is a function of overall size. A 4yo small for her age with an average torso for her size will be smaller in the torso than a kid with average torso for her size who is very tall... What kind of range are you talking about?

lourdes

ketchupqueen said:
Torso height is a function of overall size. A 4yo small for her age with an average torso for her size will be smaller in the torso than a kid with average torso for her size who is very tall... What kind of range are you talking about?

My DD is around 38 inches long, I measured her torso today (I have never done this before) and it is 13 inches, I know that she has long legs but I found this too small, I had her sit against the wall, and made a mark with a pen at her shoulder and it was 13 inches, did I did it right?

VoodooChile

My ds is 3 (just turned 3), but he is 38 3/4 inches (measured at doctor's office this morning), and the last time I measured his torso it was 13".
I always felt that both of my kids had longer torsos as babies and they evened out as they grew. I don't feel like he has a long torso at all now--I always feel like his pants get too short way before his shirts do.

ketchupqueen

CPST and ketchup snob
Staff member
Kids do grow legs as they hit 2 or 3 and again at 4 or 5. I'd say by 4, closer to 30% of body height is more average. 13/38 is 35%- that's still on the slightly long side even though it's less of her body length than when she was younger (when 31-34% or so is typical, under 2.)

Though as the PP noted, growth patterns can change, too. Not every long-torsoed baby ends up a long-torsoed child or adult!

That said, sounds like she is petite, so since her overall height is not that tall, her torso is smaller than an average-torsoed tall child.

Did you have her sit up straight and cross-legged?

momtotwogirls

I would say that average for HER size.