How appalled? Scale of 1-10

linneabw

With 10 being the highest how appalled are you with a three year old in a hbb? I know two just turned in hbbs. One is huge for his age but i know he'd fit in a Nauti or Frontier. My three uear old is still rfing! I'm up at a ten!

ADS

Baylor

linneabw said:
With 10 being the highest how appalled are you with a three year old in a hbb? I know two just turned in hbbs. One is huge for his age but i know he'd fit in a Nauti or Frontier. My three uear old is still rfing! I'm up at a ten!

I'm at 10 too. No 3 yr old should be in a booster.

auto correct hates me

mykidsmylife

I can't say. Ideally any 3 yr old should be harnessed but sadly this can't always happen. So being a tech I tend to look at things a bit more complexed. What is the families income? What seat are available for us to give to them? How mature is the 3 yr old? etc.etc.etc....

So if there is no financial reason for the 3 yr old to be boostered than I would say about an 8. If there was no better choice then about a 5.

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
Depends. If I'm in an area where kids are out of seats at six and sitting in the front, their one year old sibling in the back forward facing? Then I think a three year old in a booster is grand.

If I'm in an area where people have the AAP's recommendations and take them to heart, then I'm very appalled.

Wendy

Little Ps Mama

10. I see it everywhere where I live (including at my own three year old's preschool, where he is one of few kids still harnessed, let alone the only one still rear-facing) but it doesn't anger me any less.

Cath3114

I have a friend who put her 2.5 in a lbb. Another with a 17m in a hbb.

Many of my clients have their kids in nothing when they turn 4. Or infants in FF buckets. Makes me sick.

bella_1818