Making kids safer, one question at a time.  Welcome to the Car-Seat.Org community!   Motor Vehicle Crashes are the #1 cause of fatal injury for children and adults, age groups 1 to 34.   Selecting a safe car, minivan or SUV, plus correctly using child restraints and seatbelts may be the most important things you can do to protect your family.   Need help installing an infant, convertible or booster seat?   Looking for carseat reviews or compatibility advice? Need help buying the best and safest car seats for your baby, toddler or older kid?   No question is a bad one, so please click here to ask our experts a question and then join our friendly community of moms, dads, caregivers and advocates.   Thank you for visiting; buckle-up and drive safely!


 

Sponsored Ads


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Carseat Crazy
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    444

    Please help - Radian SafeStop question

    I've been searching the forums, but I haven't come across anyone who's mentioned this issue. The Radian installed in DH's car has a DOM of 10/05, so it was manufactured before SK started to include the SafeStop. When I found out the newer Radians came with the SafeStop, I called SK and they sent me a SafeStop to use with my older Radian. Since DS was RF up until a month ago, we've had no need to use it. However, when we turned DS FF, DH put the Safestop on the harness yoke, and the SafeStop strap actually ended up being partially *under* the Radian seat bottom. This made adjusting the harness strap damn near impossible. So, we took the SafeStop off the yoke, and figured not using it is OK because the Radians originally weren't sold with the SafeStop. This was when DS was still on the third-from-the-top harness slots.

    We've since moved the harness up the second-from-the-top harness slots because DS went through a growth spurt. We totally forgot about the SafeStop, but I'm going to be uninstalling the Radian in a few weeks to put the Britax chest clip on once it arrives. So, I'll install the SafeStop on the harness yoke again and see if it lays flat against the back of the Radian shell, and not under it.

    In the meantime, has anyone else had this problem with the SafeStop?

  2. # ADS
    Sponsored Ads
    Join Date
    April, 2001
    Location
    Car-Seat.Org
    Posts
    Many
     
     

  3. #2
    Carseat Crazy EzzieMom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    200

    Re: Please help - Radian SafeStop question

    Quote Originally Posted by ccjones View Post
    but I'm going to be uninstalling the Radian in a few weeks to put the Britax chest clip on once it arrives.
    I'm sorry I don't have an answer to the safe stop question. But I'm wondering about the chest clip....is Britax chest clips better?
    EzzieMom- Mom to: 6 yr.DD 45#,45 1/2"(FF in a Radian65)
    3 yr.DD 29#,37"(FF in a Cosco Scenera--need to update pix)


  4. #3
    CPS Technician CDNTech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    4,594

    Re: Please help - Radian SafeStop question

    Here's a comparison of the old Radian and the new Radian... they deepened the harness channel along the back of the seat for this exact reason. The safestop was getting caught up between the vehicle seat and child restraint and making it impossible to loosen/tighten properly.

    The one on the top is the new style found on all seats with dom Jan'07 or newer...
    http://farm1.static.flickr.com/158/4...953f08.jpg?v=0

    Edited to add: They also added a sleeve over the safestop to help combat against it getting caught between the seats... which is shown in the pics as well.
    Jen, Former CDN CRS Tech
    DS1 /02, Seatbelt and starting to drive in a few months!
    DS2 /05, ParkwaySG

    DS3 /12, Peg PVC
    DD1 /15, Britax B-Safe

  5. #4
    Carseat Crazy
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    444

    Re: Please help - Radian SafeStop question

    Quote Originally Posted by aidensmom02 View Post
    Here's a comparison of the old Radian and the new Radian... they deepened the harness channel along the back of the seat for this exact reason. The safestop was getting caught up between the vehicle seat and child restraint and making it impossible to loosen/tighten properly.

    The one on the top is the new style found on all seats with dom Jan'07 or newer...
    http://farm1.static.flickr.com/158/4...953f08.jpg?v=0

    Edited to add: They also added a sleeve over the safestop to help combat against it getting caught between the seats... which is shown in the pics as well.

    Thank you for posting this! My Radians looks like the one in the bottom of your pic. The SafeStops that SK sent me do not have that nice sleeve over them. From your pic, it looks like the SafeStop will still partially go under the Radian seat bottom when the harness straps are in the 2nd-from-the-top slots. So, the bottom line seems to be that the SafeStop is incompatible with my older Radians. At this point, I won't bother trying the SafeStop when I uninstall the Radian to attach the Britax chest clip.

    Thank again for the info! Will not using the SafeStop with my Radians have any adverse effects if I'm in an accident? I mean, is use of the SafeStop so important that I should consider selling my current Radians and buying ones with a newer DOM?

  6. #5
    CPS Technician CDNTech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Alberta
    Posts
    4,594

    Re: Please help - Radian SafeStop question

    Quote Originally Posted by ccjones View Post
    Thank you for posting this! My Radians looks like the one in the bottom of your pic. The SafeStops that SK sent me do not have that nice sleeve over them. From your pic, it looks like the SafeStop will still partially go under the Radian seat bottom when the harness straps are in the 2nd-from-the-top slots. So, the bottom line seems to be that the SafeStop is incompatible with my older Radians. At this point, I won't bother trying the SafeStop when I uninstall the Radian to attach the Britax chest clip.

    Thank again for the info! Will not using the SafeStop with my Radians have any adverse effects if I'm in an accident? I mean, is use of the SafeStop so important that I should consider selling my current Radians and buying ones with a newer DOM?
    Since your seat did not come with a safestop I would have no qualms about not using it with your child. The Safestop is designed to stretch a little in a collision to help provide some ride down time for a younger child. It is only to be used if your child is under 40lbs and you have the seat top tethered. Is your seat tethered?

    Either way... I would definitely use the top tether on your seat and if it's too difficult to loosen/tighten, then use it without the Safestop... although a call into Russ (or an e-mail... Russ@skjp.com) to ask about your problem never hurt anything.
    Jen, Former CDN CRS Tech
    DS1 /02, Seatbelt and starting to drive in a few months!
    DS2 /05, ParkwaySG

    DS3 /12, Peg PVC
    DD1 /15, Britax B-Safe

  7. #6
    CPS Technician
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    1,288

    Re: Please help - Radian SafeStop question

    it is likely that they may replace your old radain if you tell them how hard it is to adjust the harness b/c of the shallow path for the harness in the back, we had an older one with that and it was almost impossilbe to losten/tighten in my car with cloth squishy seats, but in my leather it worked a little better, but b/c of the issue they replaced the seat.
    Becky CPS Tech, driver of '05 Quest, and Mama to
    DS 8y 6m (51.5" 61# torso 20") Backless Turbo and parkway
    DD 6y 4m (47" 42.5# torso 16") Parkway and Radian F/F
    DD 4y 1m (42" 35# torso 15") Marathon F/F

  8. #7
    Carseat Crazy
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Alberta Canada
    Posts
    461

    Re: Please help - Radian SafeStop question

    Quote Originally Posted by ccjones View Post
    Thank you for posting this! My Radians looks like the one in the bottom of your pic. The SafeStops that SK sent me do not have that nice sleeve over them. From your pic, it looks like the SafeStop will still partially go under the Radian seat bottom when the harness straps are in the 2nd-from-the-top slots. So, the bottom line seems to be that the SafeStop is incompatible with my older Radians. At this point, I won't bother trying the SafeStop when I uninstall the Radian to attach the Britax chest clip.

    Thank again for the info! Will not using the SafeStop with my Radians have any adverse effects if I'm in an accident? I mean, is use of the SafeStop so important that I should consider selling my current Radians and buying ones with a newer DOM?
    In Canada we have to use the Safestop FFing up to 40lbs, it's in our manual, and on the seat. It's designed to protect smaller children, In canada, they actually replaced the old Safestops (without the cover) with the new ones because it was found that the old ones allowed head excursion to be milimeters beyond canadian standards.

  9. #8
    Carseat Crazy
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    444

    Re: Please help - Radian SafeStop question

    Quote Originally Posted by aidensmom02 View Post
    ... although a call into Russ (or an e-mail... Russ@skjp.com) to ask about your problem never hurt anything.
    I'm not going to worry about not being able to use the SafeStop on my older Radians. Russ actually replaced one of my Radians free of charge in March. DH uninstalled it from his car, and while it was sitting in the house, I noticed a tiny crack in the plastic on the seat bottom. I took pics of the crack and emailed them to Russ and asked him if the Radian was still safe to use. He told me he was going to send me a new seat for my peace of mind, even though the 1-year warranty had expired. The seat he sent me in March had a DOM of 12/06, so it looks like I just missed out on the new seat shells by a month or so.

    Like you said, the original Radians were deisgned w/out the SafeStop and since I tried to use the SafeStop and it make adjusting the harness impossible, I'm just going to let it go.

    Thanks again for all the information!

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •