Help me buy a small SUV

NannyMom

I've never done this on my own before. My mother has always gone with me to do the haggling and be a cosigner (her credit was better than mine). We are going to buy cash, so credit is not a worry. We aren't 100% set on what vehicle we want, but I'm going to use the Mazda Tribute as an example.

I was looking at Consumer Reports online. They said the base MSRP is $20,555. The Invoice is $19,250. Then it says to subscribe to see what the dealership paid. Uh, that's not really something I should do, is it?

Someone suggested asking for their invoice price, then preparing to pay $500 above that (starting the haggling at $200 above). And that because we're paying cash, they may even throw in some extras.

I'm looking at getting the base model, but automatic, not manual. The only extra I know we want is the floor mats.

ADS

LISmama810

Admin - CPS Technician
Check out this site: http://www.truecar.com/

It will tell you what people in your area are actually paying, and what's considered a good/great price. Car manufacturers hate the site, which means it probably works, LOL.

If you don't want to deal with haggling, go through the Internet/fleet department. They'll email you with their price, and you take it or leave it. You can get quotes from lots of different dealerships to see what the best deal is for you.

tl01

Check out this site: http://www.truecar.com/

It will tell you what people in your area are actually paying, and what's considered a good/great price. Car manufacturers hate the site, which means it probably works, LOL.

If you don't want to deal with haggling, go through the Internet/fleet department. They'll email you with their price, and you take it or leave it. You can get quotes from lots of different dealerships to see what the best deal is for you.

Perfect advice. I couldn't have written it better myself:).

NannyMom