What is the absolute minimum age you would put an average size child in a HBB/LBB

ericarizo

Just wondering and why? I am new to the boostering stage but I know quite a few people who have or have had their children in a HBB/LBB at the age of 4. My son is 6.5yrs. old and I just really started putting him in a HBB/LBB but I am wondering if he would be better off in a harness for a little longer. My DD is 4yrs. old and I am wondering if I should start booster training her now or wait till she is older?

ADS

abigaylebelle

I would feel okay putting a 4.5 year old/younger 5 year old in a hbb provided s/he could sit properly in it. I probably would not go to the lbb until s/he had outgrown the back since there is some safety benefit for side impacts with a hbb.
I've searched a long time for an answer to why a harness or booster might be safER for a child that age and I have yet to find anything compelling.

Dillipop

I'd be ok with some 4 year olds in a hbb for certain things- like emergencies and such. Closer to 5 for hbb for more frequent use and only if they were really ready. Six is what I feel most comfortable with for full time use of a HBB.

LBB- either when the HBB is outgrown or around age 8 or 9 for full time use. Occasional use, such as vacations or emergencies, age 5 or so, if the child fits properly.

flipper68

Senior Community Member
I would say 4 is the minimum. . . At car seat events in my community, it's pretty common to put 3-4 year olds in boosters because the only HWH seat we have to give away is a Maestro (and we don't have many of them).

Booster use is an issue of maturity. The child must be able to sit correctly for the entire trip (no slouching, no leaning to the side, no putting the shoulder belt behind the back or under the arm). If a child is active, restless, and/or sleeps frequently in the car, I'd want to keep them in a 5 pt harness longer than a child who is quiet, compliant, and doesn't fall asleep.