Where is the line?

cso1997

It seems like people replace their seats after every little tiny thing. I mean like bumping up against a post or tapping another car in a parking lot. Does anyone else think it is complete overkill? Seriously, slamming on my brakes hard at highway speeds and NOT hitting anything probably exerts much more force on the seats than backing into a post or similar. To each their own, I suppose.

I am not suggesting that anyone go against their manual. I am just suggesting that "accident" is a pretty broad term. One man's accident is another man's dent, ding or scratch.

ADS

carseatcoach

Carseat Crankypants
As a tech, I tell parents to go by what's in their manual.

As a parent, I likely would consider it a *crash* requiring replacement if the impact was such that my seatbelt locked. I would not replace if I backed into the mailbox. Not that I've ever done anything like that, of course.

Brigala

CPST Instructor
Usually, the manual says to replace after a "crash.". I'm sorry, but I don't define a scrape against a light pole in a parking lot as a crash.

I would advise a parent that if they are unsure whether an event is a crash or not, call the manufacturer. For me, my standard is whether the car was jolted worse than it would be in normal driving. That includes sudden stops or potholes or speed bumps.

I was rear ended at low speeds once with minimal damage to my car. I had a lightly sore neck and a headach for a day. I would define that as a crash. If seats had been in my car (even britax) I would have replaced. My threshold is pretty low. But when my dad broke his tail light on my back bumper? No way. There's definitely a line.

mrosehughes