CPST Liability insurance

azgirl71

CPST Instructor
First let me say :happy-wavehello: to all of you since I never introduced myself. I recognize some of you from Delphi.

I was wondering where I should look into getting liability insurance once I am a CPST. I know about http://www.hpso.com/ Are there any other palces I should look into?

I spoke with my insurance agent (S.F.) and he said that a separate liablility policy may be costly. He said I may be able to get something added onto my homeowner policy if I let them know that I am volunteering and not getting paid.

I am sure my instructor will touch base on this in class, but I want to be prepared.

Suggestions?

Last edited:
ADS

jen_nah

CPST Instructor
I only know of the one you already listed. I used to have my liability insurance with them but now that I work in the CPS field I didn't renew as I am covered through my work or with Safe Kids at their events. I no longer do personal installs (except for close friends) outside of work.

azgirl71

CPST Instructor
Thanks Jenny. I will keep checking around. I just want to make sure I am covered. There are unfortunately there are some sue happy people out there. The good samaritan laws protect you to an extent. I was thinking if I did any private installs I could have the person sign a waiver realeasing me from any liability. What do you think?

jenmann21

Senior Community Member
Thanks Jenny. I will keep checking around. I just want to make sure I am covered. There are unfortunately there are some sue happy people out there. The good samaritan laws protect you to an extent. I was thinking if I did any private installs I could have the person sign a waiver realeasing me from any liability. What do you think?

Hey Lisa!