Another van thread

Pixels

We are thinking about getting a minivan, which would have to be used. Budget about $20,000. I'm thinking 2005 or newer (the newer, the better) but I can accept somewhat high mileage for the age as I'm a low mileage driver so it will even out in the end. Beyond that, I don't really know what I want.

So, what do I want? What should I avoid? I know that Toyota and Honda are the go-to vans, but why, and what's undesirable about other brands?

ETA: We'd keep it until reliability, rust, or repair costs became too much. Generally I consider 10 years, 100,000 miles to be the approximate expected life of a vehicle but I know they can go much longer than that (my first vehicle was 16 years old and only 153,000 miles when I replaced it).

Last edited:
ADS

luckyclov

Honda and Toyota will hold their value better and have a better reliability/safety track record (for the most part). I know many people with previous gen Odys and Siennas and, in general, the Sienna owners (of that generation, 2005-2010) have significantly less, overall, complaints.

The 2006-2010 Odys have a useless 8th seat, if you go with an 8 passenger. You may or may not ever need to use that 8th seat, so that may or may not matter to you. There are 2 complete sets of LATCH in the captain's chairs, 1 complete set in the 3rd row, and and 2 "extra" top tether anchors (outboard). I know a lot of people who have had a LOT of transmission issues in these model years. 2005 Ody's 3rd row is 1 set of complete LATCH; no "extra" TTAs. 40 lb vehicle stated LATCH weight limit.