Article about safety/recalls

Do you own a car seat that's been recalled?

• Yes.

Votes: 12 48.0%
  • No, for sure.

Votes: 13 52.0%
  • No, but I'm not totally for sure.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • I don't know.

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

soulbarn

Hi All -

My name is Dan Koeppel. I am a writer with Popular Mechanics, and I am working on a story about car seats (I am also a new parent who is learning a lot from these forums.)

I wanted to ask a few questions, which anyone can feel free to answer, in detail, in all, or in part. So here they are, and thank you for reading and your replies:

How much attention to you pay to what seems to be many recalls of car seats? Do you check to see if your product has been recalled on a regular basis?

Did you send in your warranty card? How quickly?

If your seat did have a recall, were you contacted by the manufacturer, or did you find out on your own?

Did you actually respond to the recall by doing whatever it recommended?

Some recalls are relatively minor, requiring a small fix; others are major, requiring replacement. Do you see all recalls as the same in terms of being worthy of your attention?

Similarly, given the many recalls, do you think that - as some recent studies have shown - it is possible for a sort of "recall fatigue" to set in that might reduce compliance and awareness?

Any other comments on recalls, warranty, and how it relates to the over question of proper use and installation would be helpful. If anyone is interested in being personally interviewed, or would like to discuss these issues in outside of a public forum, don't hesitate to private message me, and again, thanks in advance for your consideration and participation.

ADS

LISmama810

Admin - CPS Technician
Hi there. I'll answer :)