Question Inflatable Seatbelts, thoughts?

mama d

Any thoughts on the inflatable seatbelts? I am debating between an Explorer or a Durango for my next car. I know the Carseatlady did a piece on them, I was just wondering what you guys thought?

ETA: I can't find the CSL review now so I can't remember what she said. Also edited to correct grammar.

Last edited:
ADS

monica-m

CPST Instructor
Car Seat Blog has talked about them some. As of right now, no car seat manufacturer allows you to install a car seat with an inflatable seatbelt. Ford insists it's fine but no one has approved it AFAIK.

monstah

I think they are pretty amazing but may be a problem for car seats. Specifically, infant buckets. (My opinion, not based on fact.) Not sure what my opinion is on other seats though. Ford says they don't negatively affect car seats but as a tech, I'm not sure what my official stance should be. IIRC, some car seat brands specifically prohibit the inflatable belts until further testing has been done. I don't recall which companies though.

Ford's LATCH goes to 48 pounds and I personally would love to get a new Ford, use LATCH to 48 pounds and switch to a booster at that time since both of my girls will likely be 5+ before hitting 48 pounds.
I understand booster seat manufacturers haven't approved inflatable belt use but from the presentations I have seen from Ford, I would love to have them in my car. :twocents:

Last edited:

kathysr98

I'm with monstah. I looked at an Explorer with them today & think they're really cool. I had dh check, and they are optional equipment, so if you are concerned you can always buy an Explorer without them.

BTW, the Explorer is cool, but the Flex is still my favorite. it has more second row legroom!

BookMama

Senior Community Member