medical carseats

Katy

What are some SN carseats on the market that insurance or other programs may pay for. Do they have any real benefit compaired to the regular seats on the market?

ADS

soygurl

I'm not special needs certified, so hopefully someone with more knowledge will come along soon. That said, as far as I know, it's is generally preferable to keep SN kids in traditional child restraints for as long as possible (Rear facing as long as possible too). Some SN seats have additional support bolsters, etc. which might be a big benefit, depending on what the specific needs of the child are, and most will accommodate much larger children/adults than traditional restraints. I believe some SN restraints can do double duty for other uses as well, but again, I'm no expert.

Are you asking about this for a specific child? If so, more information about the child and his/her special needs would really help us make suggestions. :thumbsup:

Katy

A friends daughter was born with spinal bifida and also has celiac. She is 5.5yrs and is a bit small for her age. Until recently she had good muscle tone upper body but has disabilities waist down. Last week she got a bad UTI that turned septic and almost died. She is now doing better as she has been taken off the ECMO machine. Only time will tell how she will recover and what kind of damage was done to both brain and body.