Best Seat for a Small 4 yo with down syndrome, want to keep RF if possible

angels2me

Hi..
Im new to board but not to carseats, just been a few years since Ive had to buy one. My kids are18, 17, 15 , 12 1/2. We are adopting a little guy internationally and would like to have carseat installed before we travel.
Dont know his exact size, wont until we get custody of him after court. But approximately 30 lbs and 35 inches, maybe little smaller. Kids with Down syndrome are normally smaller stature than same age counter parts.
I have narrowed it down to Radian XRT,( not crazy about price) a retiring Radian xlts, or true fit 670 and just deal with the booster as he gets closer to his size, have also thought about a nautilus or frontier but can rear face if he is as small as Ive been told he his.
ACC mom to
L 18 and making me a gma lookin at carseats herself
E 17,S 15 has her permit, A 12 1/2 my backseat driver and
soon to be E 4 wainting overseas, and Gma to be to Granbaby #1 2-18-2012

ADS

Brigala

CPST Instructor
I would personally go with a retiring Radian. I don't think the booster feature of the new Radians is going to be useful for you at all; it's outgrown by height at the same time as the harness. The only feature on the new Radians that might be helpful would be the toddler "wedge" to help the seat install more upright when it's rear-facing, but that depends a lot on the slope of your vehicle seat whether you'd ever even need it or not. A seat that slopes a lot toward the seat bight (or seat crack) probably wouldn't need the wedge. The wedge may or may not become available separately in the future for use with the older Radians. So far the company hasn't said.