What are the factors in deciding which harnessed booster seat to choose?

MelG

Please excuse my ignorance, but I am just learning about harnessed booster seats. From what I understand, all seats pass the same safety tests. From what I've read, it seems that how the seat fits your child and fits in your car are the factors in deciding which seat is best. So, my questions is, if several different seats are great fit in the car and and with the child buckled in, are they equal in safety, regardless of price?
Thank you for your help!

ADS

Pixels

Any seat that you can use properly 100% of the time is safe to use. That means properly installed in the vehicle, and child properly harnessed. One may be safer than another, but we don't know which ones. Also, one might be better in say, a side impact, whereas another might be better in a frontal, so there's really no telling.

The biggest factors I take into consideration when picking a seat are longevity (how soon it will be outgrown, often measured in terms of top harness slots/top booster guide position), ease of use, fitting three across (or not), cost, and perceived side impact protection. There are no standards for side impact, so really I can only look at a seat and have a gut feeling about it, there is no way to say that a seat has good, poor, or no side impact protection.

Jan06twinmom

Please excuse my ignorance, but I am just learning about harnessed booster seats. From what I understand, all seats pass the same safety tests. From what I've read, it seems that how the seat fits your child and fits in your car are the factors in deciding which seat is best. So, my questions is, if several different seats are great fit in the car and and with the child buckled in, are they equal in safety, regardless of price?
Thank you for your help!