Help me justify buying a new seat!

AgwasStars2

Hello again all! I'm a school bus driver (the big yellow ones!), and I am thinking of buying a new seat for my son to use while he is riding along with me. A few months ago, when I was hired as a substitute, I posted on here and got recommendations as to what the safest option would be for him on ANY bus, since I did not know whether I would be driving regular education or special needs...which led me to purchase the STAR plus.

As it turned out, I was put onto a special needs bus, which is equipped with seat belts and can accommodate a regular car seat. :eek: Teehee!

So now that I have my own (special needs) bus, and I wont have to worry about moving a seat from bus to bus, and/or whether it will be a bus with seatbelts or without, I was thinking that I would like to go ahead and install something that will be more comfortable for him, as he will be spending 5-6 hours a day in it, and he always fought falling asleep in the STAR.

I have a Britax Marathon the is about to expire in November, and Babies R Us is having their "trade in event", so I was thinking about trading in the MA for a Roundabout 55, which would be about $150 after the discount. I prefer the Britax brand because of the built in lock offs. I am able to get seats in with locking clips better than anyone else I know...(I really should be certified, lol)...but I still obviously prefer them built in!

The bus seats only have lap belts...

Thoughts please!

ADS

murphydog77

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
Hi! :happy-wavehello: Haven't seen you in a while! If you like the Britax seats, go for it. The Graco My Ride is another popular seat or even a bare-bones Scenera (or it's better padded onSide Air sibling).

ketchupqueen

CPST and ketchup snob
Staff member