I'm a Tech! Yay! Questions. =)

nylle

Hey Guys-

I haven't posted here much...I rarely have time with my kids running around like crazy. But my husband did an amazing thing for me and I knew the people here would be able to appreciate it. =)

I've been crasy about seats and safety, and wanting to get certified for a few of years now, but there has never been a class near enough to me, and I've never been able to get child care for all the days. Also, I have a one year old, a two year old (about to turn 2 and 3) and I was due in April, so I've been kind of tied up. =)

Well, our son died at birth on March 28th. We've had a devastating couple of months, and my birthday was last week, and I was NOT looking forward to it. Anyway, as a gift, my husband, all on his own, found a nearby certification course for me, got me approved to join (it was a closed course), got all of our friends to take our kids each day, and has handled getting them to and from their baby sitters every day this week.

It was amazing! I never thought I would be able to take the time to become a tech, and this week has been so cool. The instructor actually thanked me for coming to the class and told her that I had taught her a lot, and we had a lot of fun throught the week. It was really great to be able to get my mind off of everything. I also met the head of the safe kids coalition in our area (Gulf coast, FL) and she invited me to their luncheon next week and is interested in me being an instructor candidate when 6 months have passed.

So now I am officially a CPS tech and totally flipping out excited about it. All the firefighters in my class have decided I'm a huge dork. =)

Anyway, for any techs who have made it this far, what are your favorite online resources? I think I had heard that there was a email list just for techs...could anyone tell me about that? I'd love to hear about anything that helps you stay on top of things.