Question son's father won't install correctly

leannegoolsby

CPS Technician
Newbie here... :)

My son is 25 months, 34", 28 lbs. He rides ERF in a Radian XTSL in my 2003 subaru outback. superb install. no problems there!

his father and i are not together... i have sole legal/physical custody, his father has parenting time. his father drives a 2005 or 2006 subaru forester and has a Complete Air 65. BUT HE REFUSES TO INSTALL IT CORRECTLY.

over the past year+, i have found it FF before our son met the seat's requirements, center install using LATCH & seatbelt, outboard FF install using LATCH, etc... every single time it has been incredibly loose. i can move it 8-10 inches in either direction. we're talking LOOOOOSE!

i've tried talking to him, showing him a correct install, giving him another copy of his manual, installing the seat myself... basically everything. now he won't even let me near his car to check the seat. at this point, i know for certain that my child is unsafe when he is riding in his father's car. my question is... what can i do? is there any legal recourse? are there requirements about this? i can't seem to find anything.

one other note: i don't have a lawyer (can't afford one :(), so i'm looking for advice besides "call your lawyer." can any CPST's shed some light on this?

thank you!

ADS

mandynee22

If you fibbed a little, might he believe you? "So, I took DS for his dr appointment and she wanted to make sure his car seats had been checked. I made you an appointment next Thurs at 7" or whatever? What state are you? There could be a law for you about proper use, right?
What would a social worker do? I've seen some horrendous installs done by them (ok..some kind of bad, one horrendous). Id go with a lie first lol

tiggercat

Legal aid, perhaps?