My DD gave the best carseat opening line yesterday

morninglori

DD does martial arts regularly at a gym. Having been there for a while, I've gotten to know some of the other parents and kids - and I also get to see their CRS usage - good and bad.

I have done a few private checks - bunches of 5-step checks and in most cases it was easy to open up the topic and then share that I am a tech, but this one family was more difficult because they only did one class, and we do two, so they leave earlier. This family has 3 kids, 4mo, FF2.5yo and 5yo. I have noticed their 3 across in a LandRover and it looks OK, but I have wondered if she had it checked yet. The 2.5yo is also tiny and could definitely be RF, but I have not been able to even start any conversation. I figured I would just be patient.

Well yesterday, they stayed for jujitsu and DD wrestled with her DS and we ended up leaving at the same time and were parked next to each other. DD and her DS's were all waving good bye and our windows were open. DD then said (loud enough), "Mom those seats look funny, I think you need to check them." I told her "Sweetie, I don't need to check them, I'm sure they are fine."

I then apologized to the mom and told her that my DD said that because she knows I help other parents with their carseats and that I am a Tech, and that's why DD said what she did. Well, the mom told me that she was always a little worried about her install and so I told her that I would be happy to help reassure her and do a private check during the next classes. So now I get to search the 3across thread for LandRover and Recaro before Wednesday.

So I just wanted to give props to my DD for her carseat icebreaker.:thumbsup:

ADS

Brigala

CPST Instructor