kept a 3 year old from being boostered today

eyeslkethesky5391

Senior Community Member
Was at our newly converted tru/bru today with the girls and made my way over to the car seat section to look. I saw a dad looking at the rumi and he looked confused so I said I'm a car seat tech can I help you. He told me that he was looking for a seat but that his child was in that stage where she is in a harness but about to be ready for a booster. I asked her age and he said 3 years old:eek: and 35lbs So I told him that I would not put a child in a booster until at least 5 years of age and that is based on maturity etc.. I then proceeded to put the 7 year old I had with me in the frontier and showed him how long that he could harness if at all possible. He ended up walking out with a nautilus!!

ADS

cookie123

Way to go! I never say anything, I'm shy.:) I do have conversations in my head with unsuspecting people, though.

bnsnyde

As a tech can you volunteer to help parents in the carseat aisle? I'm only half-kidding! It seriously sounds like parents need the help, and if you are crazy enough about seats...what fun!

Could stores even have regular seat checks/install help? Full-time tech? THAT is where they are needed. A carseat tech on staff?

eyeslkethesky5391

Senior Community Member
Well the bru staff probably doesn't like me right now...um cause I told this guy that it wasn't safe to use the infant headrest things and since he had a keyfit and a newborn that was 8lbs that i would likely not need anything to get a good fit....(this was right infront of the salesperson that was trying to sell it to him) :whistle:

emandbri

There are a few techs on the board who work at BRU, they can give advice but can't do installs.

I wish I could do that but we have 3 in town and all a bit of a drive. One does have a very knowledgable woman on staff, she was impressed I still had Elizabeth rear-facing.

Car-Seat.Org Facebook Group

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member