Advice for a tech with no organization to work with

Pixelated

Moderator - CPST Instructor
I'm a tech recently transplanted from a large, organized, well-attended group on Ontario (yeah SEATS!) now in a smaller town with no such thing. Really nothing, so far as I can gather. I have managed to track down one other SJA tech in the same boat, and a few other techs certified by a body in BC called the Justice Institute, with their certification valid in BC only. There is clearly a need for more education and access to techs here, but I'm not sure where to best focus my efforts.

When and if I do get something going, whether it's on my own or with the above mentioned people, where does that leave me as far as liability goes? Practically speaking I can't imagine never touching a seat but just instructing a parent how to do it -- sometimes I need to climb in there and do it and figure some things out and then I can teach the parent how. But that puts my hands on the seat. What if I then undo it and have the parent have the last hands on the seat? Does that clear me? What about the wording on a waiver, and are there any generic forms out there I could reproduce? And while we're on that...any great handouts someone's willing to share?

Thank you, as always.

ADS

snowbird25ca

Moderator - CPST Instructor
The situation in BC is dismal at best at the moment unfortunately. If you can take a picture of your tech certificate and send it to me either through email (snowbird25ca at car-seat dot org) or upload it and private message me the link; then apply for tech access through your control panel, you will be able to get access to the tech forum. I think you would find it a useful resource to answer your questions.

So far as liability, that's a tough question. Private insurance is difficult if not impossible to get, and all a waiver does is limit your liability - it can't stop somebody from suing you if they wanted to.