Photo editing software?

Momto2whosews

Senior Community Member
I think we need a little more than the basic MS Photo editor that we currently have, but I need opinions.

I'm no graphic artist but I do have a few years of desktop publishing experience from my old job and I know the Windows environment.

I think Photoshop might be a bit much for us. I have heard that it's difficult to learn all the features and it costs a lot, so why pay the $$ if I'm not going to use all the features?

I was thinking of Microsoft Digital Image Suite but see that it's been discontinued.

I really just need something for photo editing. It would be nice to combine pictures together into one file, add things like frames & filters, etc. I want more than the basic program that we use for cropping and red-eye removal, but I don't need a "professional" grade program either. Just something that's easy to use and not too expensive (under $100 would be great!).

Thoughts?

ADS

Jewels

Senior Community Member
I use PhotoPlus 6 (its free), I have used Picasa and Corel. I wasn't a huge fan of Picasa but I did like the free trial of Corel.

LuvBug

I have the MS DIS here at work, its ok but I like paint shop pro better for working with people. Office Max still has it last time I was there. We actually just purchased it in the past couple of months.

You can often times do a 30 day free trail of the editors. I would definitely try before I buy.

southpawboston

speaking of free trials, there are lots of freeware/shareware editors that are actually pretty decent. i'm not sure if this is made for windows also, but there is a mac program called "graphic converter" that is amazing, and it only costs about $25. you can try it for free...

Morganthe

We use Roxio photosuite 5 -- that's probably a couple of years off the newest version. If I remember correctly, it was around $40. Easy to use when I do need it, which is rarely :eek:

solmama