Times/Days of your carseat checks & CPST classes

mommy2zander+baby

Senior Community Member
I'm all signed up for our tech class June 18-21... (4 weekdays 8-5 or 6)

& I'm curious if all CPST classes are offered during the week & during the day... seems like it would make it very difficult for people to attend... & even those that are SAHMs would end up having a difficult time finding childcare for 4 full weekdays while dads are at work...

I'm wondering the same thing about the seatchecks... ours are on a weekday from 2:30-6:30... When I volunteered at the last seat check (couldn't/didn't touch seats or cars cause I'm not a tech yet), I mentioned to the cordinater how I just loved the van in the parking lot (with the kids color crayon writing & pictures of 2 kids in seats & the stats on seats being used wrong & info on the safekids seat checks) & I that wanted her to let me know when I could drive/ride in/be whereever the van was (once I'm a tech) & she said I could attend/volunteer at every event & I'll get so many emails from her that I'll want to block them... because many techs have a hard time finding childcare & getting time off work to attend... so they are always hard up for techs...

So that really makes me wonder why these things aren't at night or on weekends when working (outside the home) folk are available & dads are home to be with the kiddos... Anyone have any ideas? Or are your events nights/weekends in your area?

I don't mean for this to sound negative, I think SafeKids & everyone involved are great & saving/keeping tons of kids safe!! I'm just wondering about these day/time details...

ADS

tarynsmum

Senior Community Member
I just took my CPST class, and it was 4 days (all other options were 5: M-F). this class was Wed. through Sat, with our seat check on Saturday. We got a much better turnout than expected, especially since there was practically no marketing at all. Much better than the ones that take place on the Friday during the day.