CPST Question

hedgefun

I'm sorry if this is posted in the wrong area, but I wasn't sure what section this should be under.

I posted once before asking for some advice for my Forester. I received a ton of helpful information from everyone here, and since then I've been lurking and just reading/learning. I've been fascinated by the wealth of information that everyone has. Everything has been so helpful, and I'm interested in maybe taking the CPST course to get certified myself. I went to the website and read the information there about it.

I found a few posts on the forums here from folks who have asked questions about it. I have a few more curiosities, so I was hoping that a few of you wouldn't mind answering some questions for me. I just want to make sure I think this through before I spend the time going through the process, though I'm sure I would find it to be useful no matter what.

Do most of you work full time in non-childcare fields? I work full time as a banker; my spouse thinks I'm a little nuts to want this certification. I was kind of hoping to find an organization to volunteer with where my certification would be useful, but I'm not sure what types of organizations would need something like that. Do any of you do any kind of volunteering where your skills as a tech are used?

How common is it for techs to not have kids? We will eventually, but now is not the time.

Thanks so much in advance for anyone who can take the time to answer some of my questions.

ADS

Pixels

I work full time as a Mom. ;) Most techs have non-childcare jobs. Gotta pay the bills some way. In my state at least, I'd say that most techs are police officers. They need a few techs in the department, so work pays for it. I'm not sure if individuals are assigned or if they volunteer when asked; either way, few have any passion.

If you have a SafeKids coalition in your area, they probably do seat check events where you can volunteer.

jjordan