spot wash or replace straps?

Michi

This week Annabelle cut her mouth while riding in her Advantage...(nothing serious, but she was crying and drooling blood...):rolleyes:

So now the straps have blood stains on them. I have tried wiping them with a damp washcloth, and it didn't do a whole lot of good, the majority of the stains are still there.

This is just our 'spare seat' her main seat is the MA.... so should I :
1. try a little bit of baby soap on the wash cloth
2. just 'live with' the stains
3. replace the whole harness?
(The seat is due to expire next year, and it's a discontinued seat so the replacement harnesses are rather expensive ... if they still have any.)

ADS

mommycat

I am no expert, but I think I would just live with the stains. So long as it's a stain and not making the belts feel stiffer/different. If you have access to some good quality microfibre cleaning cloths, you could try that - I used a slightly damp Norwex cloth to clean (approx) 5-day old cat puke out of my carpet, and it wiped out completely in less than 2 minutes - I was amazed!

southpawboston

if the seat expires in a year, then i would just live with the stains. on the other hand, if that doesn't appeal, you can use detergent on it. the soap does not weaken the fibers or compromise the safety of the straps; the only negative impact it may have is that it *may* remove the fire retardent chemicals that the straps are treated with.

I honestly don't understand the recommendation to spot-wash only. :confused:
If the child spits out a cookie, sure, spot-wash it. But to have the harness puked on, perpetually drooled on, bled on, etc. and only surface-wash it, seems more likely to degrade the webbing over time than to give it a thorough but gentle full washing. Think of all of the bacteria at work in there! I *know* the mfrs. have their own liability-based reasons for recommending spot-washing only, but this is one instance where I personally disagree. :twocents: :whistle: