loosening and tightening straps each time

U

Unregistered

I am new to this sight and have been reading threw many of the posts and have found lots of great information. One of the things I saw mentioned was loosening the carseats straps to buckle kids in and then re tightening them. I never knew people did this. So my question is if this is necessary and a safer way of buckling your kid in or do some just find it easier. Thanks to everyone for posting so much helpfull information. One last question my DD is still rear-facing so would this make it more difficult to do? Thanks

DD~3 years old rear-facing in a marathon

ADS

gwenvet

We do it every time just so that we don't have to squeeze his arms into small straps so that they're tight enough. With the Marathon, it's really easy to loosten. When tightening it you kind of have to pull and release, pull and release to tighten it enough. It's only safer in the sense that every time you have the right fit for the clothes they are in (i.e. winter jacket vs. shortsleeves would need different ammounts of harness).

AdventureMom

Senior Community Member
Hi and welcome! I do not loosen and tighten the straps each time. I leave them how I want them - not sure how others do it. After buckling my son in, I check to make sure it's still as snug as I want it. But unless he had on a sweater or something, then I don't usually have a need to adjust the harness... :)

Last edited:

jn__

I don't, because I don't trust anyone else to make them as tight as they need to be. Plus they really shouldn't be adjusted looser - if their clothes can't fit in them then take the jacket off, etc.

Chameleon

I don't either. Unless they have eaten a lot and their bellies are really big, lol, it happens, then I loosen them a bit, but usually I never touch them.

broken4u05