bike helmets in the car

Nolan really loves his bike helmet, and honestly it is hard to gethim to take it off even in the car (perhaps he thinks I am a bad driver or something.. but truth be told it is harder for Keith to get him to take it off when he is driving hehe shh) anyways.. is it ok if he wears it in the car, or should I keep battling it off of his head when we go places? (honestly the battle just to get him into his car seat makes it almost not worth it to fight the helmet too.

ADS

Dillipop

Does it affect his fit in the carseat? If not, I don't think it's a big deal. My harnessed kids wear theirs sometimes, but my booster rider wouldn't be able to because of the headwings on his seat.

Pixels

Helmets absolutely should not be worn in the car. It is increased mass on their head, and it makes their head bigger and more likely to hit something. But mostly, it's increased mass and that increases neck strain.

monica-m

CPST Instructor
My personal concern with no actual data to back it up would be that it makes the head heavier and could increase head excursion

agave

I've always heard they shouldn't be worn in the car. I did once in college but um, that's another story.

mommycat

Besides increased mass, it also pushes the head forward away from the seat back, which would put the head closer to a point of impact to begin with, and then potentially alters neck loads when the head hits the carseat on rebound - that could add a twisting motion that would not have been there without the helmet. DS dearly wanted to ride in the car in his a couple of times (RF) but after seeing his neck position with it on I was not comfortable letting him wear it. Who knows, in some cases it might even prevent a head injury, but my gut feeling is the risk of a neck injury is increased too much to take the chance.

chay