Traveling long distance and new booster user?

fyrfightermomma

Forgive me since I'm new to the booster world. Evelyn has been in a booster full time about a month now and is doing great.

We are headed to KY in a month (to see Menfusse!!!!) and it's about a 9 hour drive from here

For a kiddo that's new to a booster, do you have them ride in their booster for that long of a drive? I can see her getting antsy and being able to move all around if she wanted too might be a bad thing.

Or would a kid who is used to a booster be annoyed by a harness? I have a seat she can ride in (she can use the Frontier and Sophia can use our old Radian) so it's not a huge deal

She never ever sleeps in the car but also has never ever been on longer than a 2 hour drive lol

What do you guys usually do?

She is 5 years 8 months

ADS

christineka

I'd put her in the harness. It would not be good if you are 4 hours from home and E just won't sit right in the booster because she's tired. Since the seat is a combo, you might even use it as a booster and bring along the harness for just in case. There are so many unknowns that I'd want to be prepared.

Angela

I agree to take the harness with you, just in case. As for a kiddo who's used to being in a booster being uncomfortable in a harness, I think it depends on the kid. DS rode in a booster from the time he was 3 until he was 4.5 (before I knew better). He had no problems switching to a harnessed seat and actually prefers them over his booster now. I can see some kids being annoyed by them though, if they like that freedom of movement.

MommyBoha

Im facing this as well. We travel to FL several times a year and its an 8 hour drive, and we do it overnight. Next month will be the first time we've traveled since DS has been full time boostered and Im worried.

icnee