A question from the peanut gallery about the original radian foot

Judi

CPST/Firefighter
Ok, so I have been doing car seats for 18 years, but, BUT there was a 5 year break in there. That is when the radian first came out. Did the first ones not have the tab on the foot? You know, the one that LOCKS the foot on the base?

ADS

Twinklefae

I have no idea when the Radian came out, but mine is 2006 DOM and has the old Canadian weight limits of 30lbs rf and 48lbs ff. It has the tab.

Judi

CPST/Firefighter
Well weird. I had 3 of us techs there, none could find a tab. I will uninstall (don't worry, just for pics) and check again.

NannyMom

A woman I worked with, she's been doing seats for 25yrs. When the Radians changed in 2008, she seemed to think the old version didn't have that tab. So maybe the originals didn't.

sunnymw

I had a 2007 or 2008 Radian80 and it had the old style foot with a tab.

as a matter of fact, I think it was not as obvious, because I didn't realize there was anything to lock until I removed my seat once and the foot stayed stuck in the seat bight :eek: I was like... oops... :eek:

ketchupqueen

CPST and ketchup snob
Staff member
The very first ones, I think, did not. (I've read of it on the board.) They were quickly redesigned with the tab.

Kecia

Admin - CPST Instructor
So how did it stay on?:confused:

It didn't!

I have one of these tab-less 65 models in my training collection. Not sure what the DOM is but it's a crash tested demo seat that I got from SK years ago when the Radian first became available. It doesn't have a freakin' tab and when I got it, I could not, for the life of me, get it installed without the darn foot detaching. That seat drove me CRAZY! I always thought it was a fluke or that the tab was missing because of something that happened when they crashed it. I never knew that original Radian models were all missing this handy little [necessary] feature!

JOII