Yay! MN State PSA for using Booster Seats!

StPaulMom

I like that they have it, and it certainly gets straight to the point! I do wish they'd shown a child in a correctly used booster at the end to show what it should look like, though.
WDYT?

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oKSf6TKOfoY"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oKSf6TKOfoY[/ame]

ADS

babyherder

Actually, now that I think about it more I think its actually not going to be effective. Most parents care about their kids. And many many parents at least buckle their kids. I don't think its helpful to suggest to parents that think they're keeping their kids safe by buckling them that they're doing no better than tossing the kids on the car roof.

BookMama

Senior Community Member
You know what, they ran the same (or similar) spot in Michigan last year, and I had more parents refer to it during seat checks than any other CPS-related PSA in the 3.5 years that I've been a tech. And all of the parents who mentioned it remembered that the law says booster until 8YO! :thumbsup:

StPaulMom

Actually, now that I think about it more I think its actually not going to be effective. Most parents care about their kids. And many many parents at least buckle their kids. I don't think its helpful to suggest to parents that think they're keeping their kids safe by buckling them that they're doing no better than tossing the kids on the car roof.
But that's the point of the PSA- parents that THINK it's ok to just buckle the kid in are now being told that they need a booster. The reason many parents dont put children in boosters is because they dont know they should (or are legally required to do such) and that it's NOT safe to just use a seat belt.

babyherder