When you first got involved with Car Seat safety..

Baylor

What was the most shocking thing you learned that you were doing wrong or just did not know.

For me it was the dang Mighty Tite I had used and the bundle me.. Even now, I type those words with shame..

Also that I just thought I had to run out and now get the most expensive seats and change mine out when really I had made a pretty good choice in the GNs.

ADS

mamakc

When I started learning, I had, about 6 months prior, purchased two used Britax roundabouts because they were the best seat (Britax...ya know) and it was a great deal. I was shocked to learn how short the RA's were and that DD had already surpassed the RF weight (33lbs). I had to put her back in her scenera to rear-face! LOL And then she only made it about a month. Not to mention, I was shocked to learn that the scenera had the 34" FF rule. I had been breaking that rule for a year. :p *slaps forehead* I felt really guilty that DS was going to be so much safer than she was at those ages.

christineka

I was shocked that my installs were so bad. I only had two car seats (and two boosters) when I went to my first car seat check. They were really loose. The check was in summer, so no bulky stuff, but prior to that I was an offender of putting my little ones in the car seat with puffy stuff on. I have a lovely photo of my first dd in a giant snow suit in the infant seat. Even after that check, I posted of photo on a different car seat board of my girls in their boosters. I found out where the seatbelt was really supposed to go- since I had showed the girls to buckle over the arm rest. At least I put the screws in.:D

scatterbunny