Wanted: Head-safety features of Frontier in non-Frontier CS

jodicoleman

The question up front, then the background.

I would VERY much like to find the "Revolutionary Head Safety Technology" that the current Britax Frontier 85 has, but in a different car seat.

I'd buy the Frontier, but need a carseat that is easy to swap between multiple cars (carpooling), and was told unequivocally by the knowledgeable staff at my local kids' store that the Frontier is not only incredibly vexing to get into cars, but simply won't work with some cars (seat belt not long enough).

The background:
I don't buy marketing hype, but as a Physics teacher I was extremely impressed with the new technologies that the Frontier employed to reduce forward head excursion in a crash, and really really want them for my special-needs child (more on that below). There are three elements to the technology: Versa-Tether, SafeCell Technology, and Integrated Steel Bars.

The versa-tether is a staged-release tether, implemented by stitching in the webbing that is designed to release in sequencing, lengthening the time of the "collision," thus reducing peak force experienced. In terms of collision physics, it's an excellent idea, and, having visually inspected it (I've got experience with webbing stitching from hang gliding), I'm confident it would provide significant improvements over the norm, even above the weight limit.

The SafeCell is a crushable area below the seat. The hype talks about "lowering center of gravity," but really the pertinent physics are about rotation. I don't have the differential equation skills to back this up, but my physics intuition (usually pretty reliable) makes me confident that this would provide a significant reduction of forward head excursion.

The Integrated Steel bars sound great and all, but I don't have sufficient understanding of car seat design to have a judgment as to whether they offer an improvement in collision physics or just marketing.