Question Somewhat OT- transporting dogs

mamakc

I got a puppy. I don't have the pet buckle yet because she's still growing. I want to wait until she's big enough for the big one before I get it. Her first vet visit, she was tiny and I put her in a borrowed pet crate on the floor of the car. Her second vet visit she didn't fit in the crate anymore, so I shortened and locked her leash (retractable leash) and buckled the seatbelt through it and locked the belt thinking it'd keep her in place at least. On the way back, she chewed through the leash and got in DS's car seat (he wasn't with me that time). She started chewing on the chest clip, thank goodness it was only a short ride or some real damage could have been done!

I'm new to this dog owning thing, especially her being a puppy, and she keeps surprising me as to the mischief she gets into... lol So I need suggestions on how to transport her without destroying things... I have a large metal crate that I could put in the car, but it would be very difficult to get in there (would have to take it apart to get it into the garage, then move DD's car seat and fold down the 3rd row..) The vet is only about a mile away so it hardly seems worth the effort. How do I get her there without her chewing up the car's interior or the kids' car seats?

ADS

Patriot201

Car-Seat.org Ambassador
How big is she? She doesn't have to be all that big to fit in the "regular" Pet Buckle (I think 20 pounds?). :)

mamakc

she's probably close to 20lbs now. She was 14 at her last vet visit. I'm worried that even w/ the pet buckle she will chew stuff. Including, but not limited to, the vehicle seat, the seatbelt, the kid's car seats, and the pet buckle itself. :)

Aurezalia

If you're worried about her chewing while you can't supervise, I'd suggest a basket muzzle for the car. (In addition to the pet buckle, of course.)