Determining good booster fit

mamakc

This is my first time sitting DD in a booster. I know the lap belt should be low on the hips/thighs, but not sure what that's supposed to look like on MY DD. If that makes sense... :) I was able to go to toys r us to try the turbo booster to see how it fits. I also tried the Nauti without expecting much out of it.

Here's a picture of her in the nauti as a booster
NautilusBooster.jpg

Here's the turbo booster
TurboBooster.jpg

Do either of these look right? I don't have a lot to choose from around here. Should I order a bunch online and return what doesn't work? Thanks!

ADS

finn

The belt fit doesn't look great in either of those boosters, the lap belt looks too high and the shoulder belt looks too close to her neck :(

Jan06twinmom

How old is she? How big?

She looks so young and so small. I was wondering how much growing room she has in the Nautilus. It looks like she is small enough to be able to stay in the Nautilus as a booster. Why you are looking at booster seats now?

Melanie

Qarin

In early June she was 3.5, 37" tall, 37lbs, so I'm assuming she's just turning 4? That's very early, and she's very small, for a booster, and I think that's well evidenced by the poor fit of the Nautilus and the marginal fit of the Turbobooster. She's just brushing up to the minimum standing height limits of 38" of both of those seats, and it's really asking a lot of a new 4 year old to take over primary responsibility for her safety restraint in a vehicle.

If I had to pick one of those, I'd pick the Turbobooster- better lap belt fit, and the closeness to the neck is not a safety issue except that it's uncomfortable so she's likely to shift it completely out of position.

What are your needs for her using a booster?

Maedze