Should I say anything?

astromom

Last weekend I saw my niece and nephew. My niece will be 6 in about a week, but I suspect she weighs only ~35 lbs (much less than my 41lb DD). My niece showed me her new backless booster. I'm not an expert, but the seat belt fit looked reasonable. Also, my nephew who is 16 months was forward facing in his sister's old seat. I've sent their mom info on rearfacing to at least 2yr a while back. I'm not sure if I should say anything about either child. The only thing I did say was when their mother asked why my DD was in a HBB instead of a LBB, I said it was better for sleeping and safer. Should I say anything about rearfacing or do I let it go?
Colleen

ADS

urchin_grey

I'd be more inclined to mention RF and let the backless booster thing go.

As far as what to say, I think this video is a good one to share because its short, factual, and to the point. Plus, I think seeing the difference means more to most people than just hearing "rear facing is safer".
[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sssIsceKd6U"]YouTube - Rear facing vs forward facing position in the car[/ame]

mommyfrog

Maybe just to ask her if she read it. If she has, you've done your job by getting the information to her. If not, send it again and ask her to please read it because you love your nephew!!

ETA: Great video to send her!!

mrdhollins

what is your relationship to the mom? is she your sister or your sister-in-law (brother's wife or husband's sister, etc).

The reason I ask is that if she were my sister, I'd totally slam her with everything but if she were my BIL's wife or Brother's wife, I'd probably bring it up w/ him or ask DH to bring it up him... you know, whoever has the closest family relationship.

astromom