Yes, I'm horrible and don't have a LATCH manual and have a 40 lb kid

fyrfightermomma

So Sophia is just about 40 lbs. I never worried about LATCH limits with kids before cause none were nearing the lightest limits on the market for LATCH (not sure if she's at the limit, but i know they start at 40)

And no, I'm a horrible and tech and don't have a LATCH manual :whistle:

We have a bazillion different brands of seats so I guess I need to know what she can and can't use LATCH in anymore

Car 1
2005 Kia Sedona
Seats-
RA 50
GN
Radian XT
Maestro (50 lb version)

Car 2
2006 Dodge Grand Caravan
Seats-
Britax Frontier 85
Graco Nautilus
RA55
Radian XT

She rides in any # of seats at a given time. I think the Dodge is 48 lbs but some of the seats themselves may have a lower limit.

Help!

ADS

joolsplus3

Admin - CPS Technician
If the car manual doesn't state anything, then you need to read the label on the side of the seat and go with that.
(that's what I'd tell any parent without a LATCH manual, anyway, Judi answered your Q :D)

fyrfightermomma

So I can use all my seats in the Dodge to 48 lbs? None of the manufacturers (car seat) have less limits?

So the Kia, I can use the Britax to 48 right? The GN to 48? What's Radian and Evenflo?

ETA: Wait, don't the new Britax only have a 40 lb limit? So my "old" Britax would be 48 and the new would be 40?

Seriously, this is why there is so much misuse. So much for LATCH being a standard "easy" way to do things!

fyrfightermomma

If the car manual doesn't state anything, then you need to read the label on the side of the seat and go with that.
(that's what I'd tell any parent without a LATCH manual, anyway, Judi answered your Q :D)

It's below freezing outside and I'm a wuss LOL. And DH's car is gone until tomorrow so I can't get any manuals from there. So all I have is mine and it's too cold to go out and dig out manuals.

That's why I asked the almight c-s.org :p

joolsplus3

Admin - CPS Technician