When would you feel comfortable allowing your child to ride in the front seat?

U

Unregistered

My situation..

I currently drive a minivan and I have 3 children. My oldest DS is 12 year old, a little over 5', roughly 95lbs, and using the seat belt safely. My other DS and DD are 8 and 6 and both in HBBs.

I know this makes me sound like a terrible mother, but I've been driving a minivan for over 8 years and I simply want something more fun! (and with better mileage). I'm thinking a honda insight, mazda6, volvo s40, lexus IS 250, or audi a4.

My question is would you feel comfortable putting a child with my oldest son's stats up front on a regular (though not all the time I'm thinking when one of the other children a friend with us etc) basis?

If you are not comfortable with it what other prerequisites do you have or do you just think someone should not sit up front until they are driving?

ADS
U

Unregistered

I keep my 5'3" 11 yr old in back and will until he starts driving. According to an article on the Evolution of Front Airbags at edmunds.com, kids ages 13 and 14 were at risk even from depowered airbags because they lack the bone density and muscle mass. At puberty changes occur in the body that allow older teens to benefit from front passenger airbags.

BabyB'sMom15

I don't think you're a bad mom for wanting to drive something more fun. ;)
But I also think that if you were 100% comfortable letting your oldest ride in front you wouldn't have come here to ask this question.
I'm not a tech, so I can't really answer your initial question but I do have a suggestion. Maybe add some fun crossovers to your list that have a 3rd row you can use when you need to transport a 4th child? Check out the Maxda CX-9. I drove one until recently and it was a lot of fun to drive. Maybe something like that can be a step in between the minivan and your dream "fun" car. HTH!

Baylor