RA and RA50 difference?

Cilia

After reading this in the 3 across thread
2004 Toyota Matrix. I am a tech.

Two Roundabout 40s, middle and passenger side, forward facing with seatbelts and tethered. Combi Coccoro rear or forward facing behind the passenger, also with seatbelt. Three independent installs. In fact, the Roundabouts didn't touch.

Wendy

I have to ask - how much different is the RA from the RA50? Could I get a Coccoro rf next to a RA50 in a Matrtix? Either one can be outboard or in the middle.

ADS

Cilia

The RA50 is the same shell as the classic Marathon.
Yes, I am aware that the RA50 and the MA have the same shell. Is the RA50 base the same as the RA? And how would the RA50 puzzle with the Coccoro in a tight place like a 3 across in a Matrix? Not at all or pretty good?

joolsplus3

Admin - CPS Technician
The RA40 and RA50 and Classic MA all have the same bases. The RA's are missing the metal bars on the sides for the LATCH, which may make them a touch more narrow in that one area.

Cilia

The RA40 and RA50 and Classic MA all have the same bases. The RA's are missing the metal bars on the sides for the LATCH, which may make them a touch more narrow in that one area.

Thank you for this clarification! I have always thought the RA50 and MA looked so similar and could not really figure out what was wrong/different (apart from the obvious like the metal bars and lock offs). Now I know.

lovinwaves

Thank you for this clarification! I have always thought the RA50 and MA looked so similar and could not really figure out what was wrong/different (apart from the obvious like the metal bars and lock offs). Now I know.

The RA50 reminds me a lot of the Fisher Price Safety Voyage Deluxe :)

CarseatphotosJune2007022.jpg

joolsplus3

Admin - CPS Technician
OK, a anew one. What makes the old style bvld different from the MA/RA50?