Question Tech's Opinions Please - Maestro Recall

Kayleen

ADS

LISmama810

Admin - CPS Technician
I'm a tech, but I'm not an engineer. I don't know that my opinion is any more important than anyone else's in this case, since I'm not privy to any information other than what's on YouTube and Evenflo's website.

Recalls always seem scary, even when they're not. (Sometimes seats are recalled over rather silly details, or for reasons that aren't safety related.) This one, though, seems to be legitimate and serious.

As for the fix...I don't know. I've watched the Consumer Reports video several times, and the Evenflo "fix" video a couple times. I think I understand how the plate would reinforce that area, but I wonder if it would just spread the forces to a different part of the seat instead. And maybe it does, but as long as it keeps the harness in place, maybe that doesn't matter.

I *assume* this fix has been tested. I *assume* Evenflo wouldn't set itself up for further problems down the line.

My feelings on it are mixed.

Do I think the plate solves the problem? I believe it probably does.

Would I, as a mom, feel comfortable with it? No, I probably wouldn't.

I know that sounds contradictory, and it is. Sometimes things just don't "feel" right even when we have no contradicting information.

Bottom line: If I owned that seat, I would not continue to use it in harnessed mode. I also wouldn't fault anyone who did (after installing the fix, of course).

fyrfightermomma

I own a recalled one. And I own zero spare seats. So I'm not quite sure what I'm going to do