How do you loose a car seat buckle at the hospital???

ADS

Amaris

Um, is the piece needed the part that goes into the buckle? If so what was the hospital doing with the carseat straps unthreaded? Wouldn't that have been the parents job?

MagnificentMama

Senior Community Member
Uhhmmmm Hospital Worker over here:whistle: - We are NEVER allowed to touch the car seat (and i'm even a tech) I can educate the poo out of them and if they have questions i'd be more than happy to answer and I let them know that i'm a tech so i don't hear the "they'll stop breathing if it's too tight" junk. Anywhoo, the parents are the ONLY people who touch the car seat while they're in the hospital, we just cannot assume the added liability.

And just an aside, what is up with all the craigs lists that don't show the harness?!?! This is like the 10th seat i've seen with "slighty used but great condition seat" but there are no harness straps photographed. What good is a car seat without looking at the straps?!?!

stayinhomewithmy6

Senior Community Member
They make such a point of mentioning the missing part of the buckle in the first one, but then they don't mention the missing straps in the second one at all! How could you lose the buckle piece?! Very weird!

djma

With both of my boys, the hospital staff would not even touch the car seat. We had to bring it in to prove we had one, and they watched us buckle both of our boys in to make sure the seatbelt was tight enough.

mominabigtruck

Ok i know display label seats should not be used but why? how are they different

Because they get alot of abuse with people trying them out. Unless of course its one of the lovely stores that ties their seats to the shelves so you can't try them out and then complains when you buy a seat and return it because that's the only way you could try it out.:thumbsdown:

Not that I have had an experience personally but I have seen on bringing home baby when the nurses do all sorts of stuff with the carseats.