kindergarten field trip - no harnessed seats allowed

April

So I got a notice today regarding DD2's upcoming kindergarten field trip to the pumpkin patch. "October 20th - please send a booster seat today. Do NOT send seats that require anchoring or tethering".

Okay so #1: we're in Canada - land of 40lb minimums on all boosters. Also land of mandatory tethering for harnessed seats.
#2: I'm willing to bet money that at least 1/3 of the kids in the class are under 40lbs. DD is 42lbs and she's a good head taller than every one of her classmates. #3 the parent driver form requires you to state how many seats you have available without an active airbag. No mention of lap/shoulder belts.

I'm one of the parent drivers. DD will be riding harnessed in her Nautilus. I'm also a tech. There is no way I'm putting an under 40lb child in a booster in my vehicle. What am I supposed to do, bring a freakin scale? I see the pick up/drop off line everyday and many of these kids ride in harnessed seats. So I can only imagine how many will be riding in a booster for their first time on this trip, possibly in lap belt only positions.

Thoughts?
Posted via Mobile Device

ADS

babyherder

Remind the teacher that what she is organizing may be illegal (under 40 lbs in a booster and booster with lap belt only). Say you are uncomfortable doing something illegal and unsafe. If you have extra harness seats install them and tell the teacher ahead of time you will be using your own seats. You and/or her can find parents that are comfortable with that.

Neatfreak

Ugh. How unfortunate! I might send the teacher a note, saying that you are a tech and wanted to give her the chance to revise her note before anyone caught what "must be an error" because not all of her students can legally ride in a booster.

petriescz