outgrown highback booster?

aprilbeanxo

How do you know when a highback booster is outgrown?My 8 year old brother is in an evenflo highback booster(i know these dont usually get good fits,but it fits him really well,across the lap and good shoulder position).Today i noticed his head is right at the top of it,and its as high as it goes.I'm not sure on when a highback is outgrown and cant find the manuel.is it an inch above the head?until his ears are at the top?

And also,should i encourage my mum to get him another highback that will last him longer,or do you think that he will be ok in a no back at 8?
TIA:)

ADS

Raegansmom4

I'm not a booster expert as my kids are too young for one yet (just started booster training my oldest). I do know the shoulder cannot go above the belt guide, so your brother may be too tall for it, depending on where his shoulder hits. At 8 years old, he probably could handle a no-back booster as long as the vehicle has headrests to provide neck protection.

Pixels

A high back booster is outgrown when the shoulder goes above the belt guide, the top of the ears go above the top of the head support, or the weight limit is reached. Most boosters, the head is still well below the top of the head support when the shoulder goes over the belt guide.

TerisBoys

To give a visual, my son was at the max of the Evenflo Big Kid here (if I'm not mistaken, that's what your brother is in?)

bk2.jpg

Car-Seat.Org Facebook Group

Forum statistics

Threads
Members
Latest member
onehitko860