TrueFit with a suspected small newbie

Kappy

Senior Community Member
Yes, I'm a newbie, but a long time reader. I usually just stay on babycenter (I'm the creator of the ERF group there! yay).

We're expecting our second child in February, and for the life of me I can't find any really good pictures of newborns in TrueFits. I'm thinking about the Premiere, simply for the ARB.

I don't want to get an infant seat, just to need another convertible. I'm not looking to give our newbie our DS's current seat, and the aspect of just saving money is quite nice.

Our DS is almost 3 (in November), and I go back and forth with RF and FF for him. He is in a BLVD CS, and he fits wonderfully RF and FF. He's 27 pounds, 34 inches tall, with maybe a 12 inch torso. He barely fit in the BLVD at 17 months. He has an extremely short torso. If I had to guess, he probably has about 4 inches of shell above his head. So our BLVD is going to last a very long time for him, and I'm fairly certain that I'm gonna keep him in it until he is boostering age.

The infant seats were are considering are the KeyFit30 and Flex-Loc (30 ver). This will not be our last child, so I'm thinking the infant seat may be a better idea?

ADS

wendytthomas

Admin - CPST Instructor
Staff member
How small of a baby are you expecting? Five pounds? A 50% newborn? My daughter fit great in the TFP from birth. She was 7 pounds 12 ounces.

3934911613_b02d838203.jpg

That's her at three days old.

I like the Keyfit, but I do not like the BT. If you're installing it with LATCH it's ok, but the handle has to be down, and a seatbelt install is enough to make me cry.

Wendy

Kappy

Senior Community Member
I'd say around 7 pounds, give or take. Our DS was 7 pounds 5 ounces, but dropped to 7 even when discharged. He was 20 inches long. He had a very short torso, and it didn't seem like his SR22 fit him really well. Granted, I didn't know anything compared to what I know now about CPS.