The Nautilus is fine, right?

Wife&MomX3

DD1 needs a HWH-to-booster seat. Im used to Britax seats, but cant afford a Frontier. It seems like the Nautilus is a REALLY popular seat, but I want to make sure it's not popular just because it's so cheap compared to other HWH seats. Is it really a great seat that ppl love anyway, and the lower price is just a bonus?
My oldest is still harnessed in a Regent @ 5.5 yrs old, so I have no booster experience yet. We have an Apex 65 as the spare seat in our other vehicle, but have never tried it in booster mode. Will the Nautilus and Apex 65 be similar to use as boosters?

ADS

Pixels

The Apex requires support by the vehicle at least to the top of the child's ears. The Nautilus does not require vehicle support.

The Apex is a wide seat, and that can cause problems with lap belt fit, especially for younger booster riders.

If I was buying a new seat for my daughter to forward face in, I'd buy the Nautilus. There are cheaper HWH seats, and there are more expensive seats that will last longer, but I really like the Nautilus.

firemomof3

The Nautilus is a great seat :thumbsup: It performed very well in crash tests, fits most kids/vehicles easily, is easy to install and once the harness is outgrown it fits most kids very well in booster mode. From what I have heard the Apex does not fit very well in booster mode.
The only downside to the GN is that you may find your child's head slumps forward when sleeping. But this is not a safety concern ;)

arly1983

The Nautilus is a great seat :thumbsup: It performed very well in crash tests, fits most kids/vehicles easily, is easy to install and once the harness is outgrown it fits most kids very well in booster mode. From what I have heard the Apex does not fit very well in booster mode.
The only downside to the GN is that you may find your child's head slumps forward when sleeping. But this is not a safety concern ;)

:yeahthat: