Question School drop off and pick up lines

mburks26

Dd starts school Monday Kindergarden so I am new at this

We have to do the pick up and drop off line no parking allowed and no getting out of our cars to help our childern

How in the world am I to buckle my daugher in either her GN or Vivo she can't yet (one hand) I cant reach back there to buckle from the front seat either. She can unbuckle the Vivo but not the GN. She can get out of our truck but can't get in with out help.

Any thoughts if I have to pick her up? I will on the first few days of school since shes not used to school or buses yet.

ADS

Maedze

You can't unbuckle and turn around to help her? :confused:

If you can't, you get out and help your child :shrug-shoulders: Tell them you will not drive away with your child improperly restrained, and they can take it up with XYZ PD if they have an issue with that.

skitle1802

I drop DS2 off riding in his brother's Vivo, but we walk to the line together. After school, I've had the school aids come ask if I'm missing someone because I haven't moved yet. They don't understand it takes awhile to get in and buckle (DS2 in a FR, DD1 and DS1 in boosters next to a convertible).
And I may get flamed...
I've started pulling out of line, 10 feet at creeping speed to avoid the glares.

Joyofbirth

I would just pull up, park, unbuckle, lean over and open the door, let her sit. Then lean over and buckle her in. In my opinion, the GN is easier to buckle than a booster, but that could be because of my limited booster experience. I agree with Maedze said if they give you a hard time. Also, maybe you could do a couple trial runs before school actually starts without anyone there. If you practice a couple times, it might be easier than you think. If they do give a hard time about it, perhaps you can go to the principal and explain and ask if they'd allow you to park and go get her.

KaysKidz

Senior Community Member