Quick--need opinions on this

scatterbunny

http://portland.craigslist.org/mlt/car/297532473.html

1994 Honda Accord EX Vtec well maintained for the Eight years I have had it. It has 180000 miles runs and drives great No taps, Ticks, Knocks ,Pings ,it is a great car gets between 24 and 28 Miles to a gallon. I really have to get rid of it or else it would stay, very small body damage , the snow got me ! good tags passes deq no problem, auto trans, keyless entry with alarm !. ! 2500 obo I will Entertain any reasonable offer but lets not be Insulting. No Lowballers or Tire Kickers. Call or E-mail for Test Drive. 503-891-0091 Cameron
CLEAN TITLE IN HAND !

This is what I emailed the seller:

Hi, I've got a few questions about the car.

The minor body damage--were you hit by another car, or was this a single-vehicle accident?

Airbag(s) intact?

It really runs well?

I'm a child passenger safety technician and know that belts should be replaced in a crash, so it worries me buying a used vehicle, but it's all we can afford.

Thanks for your time!

And this is what they replied:

HELLO JENNY,
I SLID AROUND A CORNER IN THE SNOW LAST JANUARY AND HIT A PARKED TRUCK AT ABOUT 8-10 MILES PER HOUR AIR BAGS ARE INTACT AND IT RUNS GREAT.

What do you car experts think? Worth it?

ADS

AdventureMom

Senior Community Member
Jenny - I'm no car expert, but I hope it turns out to be a good vehicle! It sure looks good and I know you love the Honda Accords :)

Niea

Not an expert, but here's my take:

I typically get concerned when buying cars that have had multiple owners because there's a lot that's just unknown. I mean, what happened to the vehicle in the 5 years prior? Maybe ask him where he got it -- private sale or was it someone elses trade-in? Sounds like a trade-in car to me, though since the first owner only had it 5 years.