Which seat for plane? And tips for installing Radian on plane?

rverrone11

We are flying next week, but leaving home on Saturday, so I need to make a decision.

DD1 is 2.5 years old, 37", and 34lbs.

We have:

Scenera (35lb rearfacing limit, I think)
Marathon (35lb rearfacing limit)
Radian (45lb rearfacing limit)

Which should we take? She will be rearfacing in the car. One of the cars we will be using has a smallish backseat (Hyundai Elantra), and we need to have two carseats in the backseat (other carseat is an infant seat) plus an adult. That's why I'm leaning towards the Radian. But I'm concerned about the buckle behind DD's back bothering her on the plane.

What do you think?

Are there any tricks to installing the Radian on the plane (like there are tricks for the Marathon)?

ADS

aeormsby

My kids have never minded the buckle behind them (or under their legs in a RF MA) on the plane. I'm not experienced with the Radian. But I have flown with our Marathons & Uptown (pretty similar to the Scenera). I would say either the Radian or Scenera (assuming he still fits RF in the scenera). The Scenera would probably even fit RF on the plane which is nicer for interacting on the plane, and keeps the toys off the floor a little more.

There is a 'Successful Radian install' thread somewhere, maybe that would have some info on Radians & the Elantra.

rverrone11

Thanks. I found out the Radian fits in the Elantra.

I'd have to check to see if DD still fits RF in the Scenera. I'm not sure if she's outgrown it heightwise since we haven't used it in a while.

thrisha

We have a Radian and have used it on a plane. We just install it FF with the seat belt extender that the airline has and then put her in the seat as we normally would.

ketchupqueen

CPST and ketchup snob
Staff member