Question Evenflo directions

flipper68

Senior Community Member
Wandered through the TRU car seat aisle and spent a few minutes looking at the Evenflo Momentum 65. [IMO, it's hard to distinguish between it and the Triumph 65.]

Anyway, I hadn't seen the seat so I pulled the directions and was shocked to read among the warnings something to the effect of: The headrest in front of the child should be at it's lowest position and free of any hard objects.

At first I thought they were talking about a RF child, but no. So, if I'm a tall driver or passenger and install the seat behind me, I can't/shouldn't adjust the headrest for optimum protection for me? :eek:

And, I guess you gotta toss the portable DVD players, too. :whistle:

(Didn't have my phone to get the exact quote and Evenflo wants an model # to get to their on line manuals).

Did I fail reading comp or can some one clarify?

Last edited:
ADS

Angela

I can't clarify it much, but you did cause me to check my EFTA manual to make sure it didn't say the same thing... nope... just states that it should be in the lowest position rear-facing. It will be interesting to see if that really is the case. I hope someone can chime in about it.

Judi

CPST/Firefighter
Symphony65 has the headrest warning.

Titan, Triumph, Tribute all do not.

I think it has something to do with the higher weight limit and heas excursion (50-65 lbs).

flipper68

Senior Community Member
Symphony65 has the headrest warning.

Titan, Triumph, Tribute all do not.

I think it has something to do with the higher weight limit and heads excursion (50-65 lbs).

I figured that it was probably a concern about head excursion, but talk about a HUGE contradiction between vehicle and car seat instructions in terms of best practice for folks in the front seat.